Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Splitting a line
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Splitting a line Post 302125458 by spindoctor on Thursday 5th of July 2007 11:18:58 AM
Old 07-05-2007
And I'm fooling around with the sed string outside of the script, and it's not actually working, period.
s/==Document\n/==\nDocument/

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Splitting a line up

9600012301F TF02FT T03FFTF04TF 05T FF06TTTT I have to split this line up into this 96000123 01F TF 02FT T 03FFTF 04TF 05T FF 06TTTT Can anyone please Help?? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: lilas
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Line Splitting

Hi, I want to make a new line between for eg: 0102030405 to make it look like: 01 02 03 04 05 by using sed commands. I'm just wondering how would I do this? p.s i'm new to this unix programming. (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: evoGage
7 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Splitting the line in multiple lines

Hi Guys, I need a help. I am pretty new to the shell level programing. I was trying to split a long lines to a multiple lines with few conditions. I goggle for the code and found some snippets and tried to modified it but I got few strange problems too. I have to split the lines if line is ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: dd_sh
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help in splitting a line into fields in shell scripting

I have a line of more than 3000 bytes which will contain & as fields separator..I am using following awk command ..Its working but its not accepting the line more than 3000 bytes...Anyother alternate solution even in othe shell command also fine... awk -F '&' '{for( i=1; i<=NF; i++ ) print $i}'... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: punithavel
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Splitting 12M line file