Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: stdout back to tty
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers stdout back to tty Post 302124845 by xander on Tuesday 3rd of July 2007 12:15:34 AM
Old 07-03-2007
You can do it with tee !!!!!!!!!!!!

Hi

I m not sure that this is your requirement . however i m trying if it works for you its good !!!!

the solution to your problem is using tee command but for that you will have to run the code from beginning
not in middle . suppose you are using less command to see any file
then you can send the output to the file and also to your terminal as follows

Code:
less abc.log | tee /dev/pts10 xyz.txt| less

this will send your 1 output to your terminal . other output to the file xyz.txt

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

tty remote IP

I am fairly new to Unix Terminal outputs and I have a server that is sending print jobs to a PortServer 8 RJ45 situated in a remote location. It is working fine however we need to change the Subnet of that location and I am unable to find where the IP associated with the terminal is located. ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: martin_Montreal
4 Replies

2. AIX

tty

Hi All can anyone tell me what is the meaning of tty,or give me an example of this? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: magasem
1 Replies

3. AIX

back to back printing in UNIX

Hi , Can you suggest me how to back to back printing in UNIX? Is there any way? Kindly advise. Regards Vijaya Amirtha Raj (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: amirthraj_12
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to put the STDOUT back to terminal

I have put the file descriptor 1 to file, using command exec 1>>out.txt Then I could not see any output on the screen, how could I restore the default output to terminal? :mad: Thanks (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: biglau
3 Replies

5. IP Networking

Back-to-Back Connection using HBAs