Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: What is the output of echo *
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers What is the output of echo * Post 302124276 by vgersh99 on Friday 29th of June 2007 09:27:14 AM
Old 06-29-2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by shailja
Hi,

Thanks for the reply. But I have one query, echo * displays only files in the current working directory or files and directories in the current working directory.
everything - the easiest way to find out is to try it.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Store output and Echo

I will admit I am a newbie but I am trying to write some simple scripts Situation: I have a list of IP Addresses that I want to once or 2 times a day store the average ping response time in a database (mysql) I am part way there but not all the way there I have the following cat ./slow... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: meyerder
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How do I output or echo NONE if grep does not find anything?

I am performing a grep command and I need to know how to echo "NONE" or "0" to my file if grep does not find what i am looking for. echo What i found >> My_File grep "SOMETHING" >> My_File I am sure this is easy, I am sort of new at this! Thanks (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jojojmac5
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

piping output to echo

Hi, I was wondering why ls * | echo does not print the contents of the directory to the screen? The way I see it, ls * returns a whole lot of information, and then we pipe all this info to echo, so surely it should all come to our screen! Is there a serious flaw in my understanding? ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: A1977
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

weird echo output?