Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: What is the output of echo *
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers What is the output of echo * Post 302124275 by kamitsin on Friday 29th of June 2007 09:26:54 AM
Old 06-29-2007
Quote:
But I have one query, echo * displays only files in the current working directory or files and directories in the current working directory.
Files and directory both !!
kamitsin

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Store output and Echo

I will admit I am a newbie but I am trying to write some simple scripts Situation: I have a list of IP Addresses that I want to once or 2 times a day store the average ping response time in a database (mysql) I am part way there but not all the way there I have the following cat ./slow... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: meyerder
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How do I output or echo NONE if grep does not find anything?

I am performing a grep command and I need to know how to echo "NONE" or "0" to my file if grep does not find what i am looking for. echo What i found >> My_File grep "SOMETHING" >> My_File I am sure this is easy, I am sort of new at this! Thanks (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jojojmac5
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

piping output to echo

Hi, I was wondering why ls * | echo does not print the contents of the directory to the screen? The way I see it, ls * returns a whole lot of information, and then we pipe all this info to echo, so surely it should all come to our screen! Is there a serious flaw in my understanding? ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: A1977
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

weird echo output?

#!/bin/bash INPUT=$1 if then INPUT=0$1 TRACKNUMBER=$INPUT fi TRACKNUMBER=$INPUT echo "Track Number:" $TRACKNUMBER if then echo "File Does Not Exist!: split-track"${TRACKNUMBER}".wav" exit 0 fi CUEFILE="$2" (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: TinCanFury
6 Replies