Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: how to monitor ports
Operating Systems Solaris how to monitor ports Post 302121199 by sysgate on Tuesday 12th of June 2007 11:17:26 AM
Old 06-12-2007
GhostDog, nice one, I just changed it a little bit per my needs, thanks for sharing that.
Code:
#!/usr/bin/python

import socket
import sys

if ( len(sys.argv) != 2 ):
    print "Usage: " + sys.argv[0] + " you must enter IP or FQDN"
    sys.exit(1)

remote_host = sys.argv[1]

for remote_port in [22,80,8080,993]:
        sock = socket.socket(socket.AF_INET, socket.SOCK_STREAM)
        sock.settimeout(60)
        try:
                sock.connect((remote_host, remote_port))
        except Exception,e:
                print "%d closed " % remote_port
        else:
                print "%d open" % remote_port
        sock.close()

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. IP Networking

ports???

Ok, I've been working in the IT field for about 3 years now and I never fully understood the concept of ip ports. I just started a new job that uses Solaris and today it kinda clicked in my head and I want to know if I'm right or wrong. Does each ip address have multiple ports. because we... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: eloquent99
4 Replies

2. IP Networking

Ports

What are some good sites that list all TPC/UDP ports? ~thanks (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ireeneek
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Ports...

Hello UNIX people... This is my first foray into the UNIX world so go easy on me... I have a client who has hired me to do some work on his windows stuff, BUT it just so happens his UNIX server started giving him problems... He is running SCO Open Server 5.0.6 The TTY ports won't... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: TechKnow
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Monitor: Read from the monitor