Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: chown issue
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users chown issue Post 302120392 by praveenkumar_l on Wednesday 6th of June 2007 08:11:37 AM
Old 06-06-2007
chown issue

I have a strange problem in my Linux box (Suse). Recently I took over this box as admin even though I have no prior admin experience. Following is my issue

I had following users under 'root' group initially

user1
user2
user3

Since I did not like user ids under root group. I modifed these user's group to 'users' using

usermod

command. Then I realised that all their files were still under group 'root', so using root id changed their group for all the files recursively using

chgrp -R users <home>

Then after some time, users complained that they could not able to change ower of the files. But claimed they could able to chown earlier

user3 tried the following

$ chown user1 test.sh

and getting the following error

> chown user1 test.sh
chown: changing ownership of `test.sh': Operation not permitted

file test.sh is owned by user3 and under users group

-rwxrwxrwx 1 user3 users 36 2007-05-16 17:50 test.sh

But it is working under root id (I know it should)

Then I changed the group back to root using

> id
uid=1010(iriuser3) gid=0(root) groups=0(root)

> id
uid=1008(iriuser1) gid=0(root) groups=0(root)

Even chgrp is nor working. Giving the same error

Please let me know how to resolve this issue

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

chown and NIS

I have a box that people are using to ssh to our customer sites. Everyone uses an NIS account that I have created for them. I also create home directories for these users as well on this box. My question is can use a command, like chown, to change ownership of the directories I create to the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Jody
2 Replies

2. AIX

chown