Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: /var/cron/log Return Codes
Operating Systems Solaris /var/cron/log Return Codes Post 302120177 by porter on Monday 4th of June 2007 09:13:11 PM
Old 06-04-2007
The exit code of a process is not the same as a error number found in errno.

Returns codes from programs are program specific and should be documented in the relevant manpage for that program. For example grep returns 0, 1 or 2.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Help with Return codes

I have the below script I am running on a Solaris system to check the status of a Tivoli Workload Scheduler job and return the status. We need this script to return a '0' if any of the jobs in the stream are in a "EXEC" state and an "1" if in a "HOLD" state. I am not a programmer so I am not sure... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: leezer1204
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Return codes

Hi, Can anyone tell me if there are return codes for SFTP? If so how would you capture them? I've tried 'man sftp' but its not particularly helpful. Many thanks Helen :confused: (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Bab00shka
4 Replies

3. Red Hat

LAuS error messages in /var/log/cron

I'm running RedHat Linux Enterprise Server ES Version 3 and I've stopped the audit service. Now I'm getting the following error messages in /var/log/cron May 17 07:01:01 pam crond: LAuS error - do_command.c:243 - laus_log: (19) laus_log: No such device May 17 08:01:01 pam crond: (root) CMD... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: soliberus
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Return Codes

I have a simple script which renames a file.How do i capture the return code of the script if the script fails (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: kris01752
3 Replies

5. AIX

AIX and cron logs filtering ?: /etc/cronlog.conf, /var/adm/cron/log