Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Parsing line out of a file, please help !! Post 302119559 by Shell_Life on Wednesday 30th of May 2007 05:08:02 PM
Old 05-30-2007
Xeniya,
See if is this what you want.
'input_file' is the file with your lines (A, B, C, etc.)
Code:
while read mEachLine
do
  mNewLine=${mEachLine}"<your_date_here>"
  ### use 'mNewLine' as you wish ###
done < input_file

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

parsing a delimited line

I have a text file of lines like: A=5|B=7|G=4|C=3|P=4|... In other words, each line is a pipe-delimited set of pairs of strings of the form "X=Y". What I want to do is find the token starting with "C", and print it and its value (so I'd want to print "C=3" in the example above). I'm... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: monkeys
11 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Problem parsing line in file

I am VERY new to unix scripting. I am having trouble parsing a line into fields for further processing. I have this script: #bin/sh cat ztest2.txt | while read line do zvar1=`echo $line | cut -f6` echo "zvar1 is " $zvar1 done ******************** ztest2.txt looks like: 1 ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rlwilli
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl question, parsing line by line

Hello, Im very new to PERL and as a project to work on developing my skills at PERL Im trying to parse poker hands. Ive tried many methods however I cant get the last step. $yourfile= 'FILENAME';#poker hands to parse open (FILE, "$yourfile") or die $!; @lines = <FILE>; for (@lines) ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Ek0
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

parsing a file by line