Sponsored Content
The Lounge What is on Your Mind? Career Path/Change - Cert Help Post 302118401 by CoopDeVille on Monday 21st of May 2007 11:33:40 PM
Old 05-22-2007
Career Path/Change - Cert Help

This is a very serious post. I am a Cell Technician (Cellular Base Station Tech) who is completely bored because my job has basically evolved into a Field Secretary position. I love working on T1's and troubleshooting equipment outages and so on and so forth but my job has become VERY administrative. I love computer/configuration work and troubleshooting.

I am at a point in my life where if I am going to make a change (and I NEED to) it needs to happen very soon! Here is my dilemma:

I have taken MANY career aptitude tests and they always point to Technology and Food.

I spent 5 years in the Marine Corps as an Avionics Technician and the last 7 years in the Wireless/Telecom industry. I am good at what I do but I want more.

I have been cooking since I was 9 and I am now 30...I have a lot of unprofessional food experience. Cooking is one of my passions.

I have also been into computers since I was 10 and everyone I meet says I am a natural. I kick ass on anything in my current position involving computers or CLI. It is my thing!

Cooking doesn't pay unless you know a guy!

IT does!

I am trying to get into something I love to do instead of what pays the bills.

What would be the best path for me to crossover from what I do now to a job in the IT industry (especially VoIP or UNIX)?

Are there any quick certs I can get now (with my GI Bill) that I can use to make about 55k/per year or more with my experience and the new certs? Is there a possibility of making more with my experience and suggested certs?

I would like to make this transition in a years time so quick certs are key!

I have worked on Sun Solaris Workstations and CLI while I worked on Nortel Cell Sites so I am semi-familiar with UNIX.

I have experience with the following (which may or may not help):