Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Newbie Awk data sorting
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Newbie Awk data sorting Post 302116456 by i_am_a_robot on Friday 4th of May 2007 05:11:48 AM
Old 05-04-2007
Error Newbie Awk data sorting

Hi guys, just started using awk here.

I've got a file called a.txt which contains a load of numbers on each line e.g.

I want to learn how to do three things:

1. Find the minimum
2. Find the maximum
3. Find the average

I want to learn how to do this using awk. Pretty basic stuff I should think but all I'm new to this so help please.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sorting blocks of data

Hello all, Below is what I am trying to accomplish: I have a file that looks like this /* ----------------- xxxx.y_abcd_00000050 ----------------- */ jdghjghkla sadgsdags asdgsdgasd asdgsagasdg /* ----------------- xxxx.y_abcd_00000055 ----------------- */ sdgsdg sdgxcvzxcbv... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: alfredo123
8 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

sorting data from who by IP

Hello. I have an RS/6000 running AIX 4 and I need to be able to see if there are any users that are logged on more than once from the same terminal so I can kick them off to make room for other terminals. 64 connections is the limit. Currently I am doing this: who | more and then manually... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: raidzero
11 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

PERL data - sorting

Hello, I have a page where multiple fields and their values are displayed. But I am able to sort only a few fields. When I looked into the issue, it is seen that the for each row of info , an unique id is generated and id.txt is generated and saved. Only those fields which are inside that id.txt... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: eagercyber
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Sorting data from a to z