Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Simulate 'try again' case
Special Forums IP Networking Simulate 'try again' case Post 302114863 by srinivasan_85 on Thursday 19th of April 2007 02:10:58 AM
Old 04-19-2007
More clarifications

Ah, I'm usually bad at explaining things. Sorry, but I'll give another try.
The actual need for me is to make the nameserver (dns_server) return 'Host not found, try again', irrespective of the IP queried for.
I understand that dns queries undergo multiple hops before they reach the final server. I want to accomplish 'try again' return value in the first hop itself. I currently am aware of 2 possibilities to do this. But I want a third way to do it, because I have some other problem testing my code with the first two possibilities.

Possibility 1: Change the resolv.conf to point to invalid nameserver
Possibility 2: Terminate the local nameserver, or change the local dns_server code to return 'try again' irrespective of the query

PS: I'm an email developer and am not attempting DoS even in its mildest way.

Thanks,
Srini

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

lower case to upper case string conversion in shell script

How can convert a Lower case variable value to an upper case in the kron shell script. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: dchalavadi
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script needed to select and delete lower case and mixed case records

HELLO ALL, URGENTLY NEEDED A SCRIPT TO SELECT AND DELETE LOWER AND MIXED CASE RECORDS FROM A COLUMN IN A TABLE. FOR EXAMPLE : Table name is EMPLOYEE and the column name is CITY and the CITY column records will be: Newyork washington ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: abhilash mn
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

data array needs to change upper case to lower case