Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: grep to handle a 0 result
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers grep to handle a 0 result Post 302105860 by ocelot on Monday 5th of February 2007 09:17:38 AM
Old 02-05-2007
grep to handle a 0 result

Hi guys,

I have the following grep command in a script to search through a file for a string and return its count, and it works fine for when the string exists:

grep "string" file.txt | wc

However, sometimes the result will be 0 and I want the script to take this as the result. Right now it is just dumping out with a "child process exited abnormally"

How can I get around this so that if the result is 0 then the script doesnt dump out and takes the result as 0?

thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

To have a numeric result from grep

I am new to unix. i need to know how to use grep to grep and expression from a file. and pass the result as a 0 for found and 1 for not found. I can only go up to grep 'Checking Subscription Status' ranos.log. Please help. Thank you. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Hak Dee
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How ro handle backslash character in grep?

Hi , I am doing invert grep using -v but the string contain "/" which break the grep command and it do not skip the lines with "/" on it. Diffu.txt ======== 1159c1159 < <td align="right" valign="middle" class="paddingRight2px" id="featureListItemChannelButton7466"> --- > <td... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rajbal
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

How to handle backslash in grep string

Hi , I am doing invert grep using -v but the string contain "/" which break the grep command and it do not skip the lines with "/" on it. Diffu.txt ======== 1159c1159 < <td align="right" valign="middle" class="paddingRight2px" id="featureListItemChannelButton7466"> --- > <td... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: rajbal
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting