Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: arithmetic in ksh
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting arithmetic in ksh Post 302105073 by d.f. on Tuesday 30th of January 2007 01:11:43 PM
Old 01-30-2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by anbu23
Code:
$x=4
[...snip...]

$echo $(( x / y ))

[...snip...]

Isn't this the "preferred" way of doing arithmetic in ksh and bash? I recall reading that it doesn't spawn a new shell like expr and bc.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Arithmetic In UNIX

I am a beginner and I have been searching the web all morning for this answer but can't find it anywhere. I know that prtint 1*2 will return 1*2 what if i actually want the problem to be calculated so i want print 1*2 to return 2 How is this done? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: tygun
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with arithmetic operation

I am using egrep to extract numbers from a file and storing them as variables in a script. But I am not able to do any arithmetic operations on the variables using "expr" because it stores them as char and not integers. Here is my code and the error I get. Any help will be appreciated. #!/bin/sh... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: emjayshaikh
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

strange ksh arithmetic

Hello, I would like to understand this... I'm using ksh and doing (( z = y - 1 )) if y=34, then the result for z is 33, but if y=034 the result is z=27. Why?? Thanks (15 Replies)
Discussion started by: fbg
15 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

ksh-script "arithmetic syntax error" comparing strings

Hi all, I´ve already searched the forum but can´t find what i am doing wrong. I am trying to compare two variables using ksh under red hat. The error I get is: -ksh: .: MDA=`md5sum /tmp/ftp_dir_after_transfer | cut -d' ' -f1 ` MDB=`md5sum /tmp/ftp_dir_before_transfer | cut -d' ' -f1 `... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: old_mike
3 Replies