Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Display Directory Size - DF?
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Display Directory Size - DF? Post 302102444 by Radar on Wednesday 10th of January 2007 12:59:30 PM
Old 01-10-2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by t4st33@mac.com
How can I display the size of a directory and contents witin a directory

df only gives me the mounts
Try using du

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Display size

Hi Friends, I'm a Oracle Dba first time working in Solaris, i have worked on linux (redhat). I want to see the size of the particular directory e.g oracle and also the size of the database files. Thank you (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: shaan_dmp
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Display directory size

Hi all, Is there any built in function that can display the content of a directory showing the size of directories? I want to see the content of a directory without recursion. I don't want to see the content of all subdirectories. I want to see the contained files with their size and the... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: chebarbudo
6 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

du -k . display size wise

Hi, I want to display all the directories with ascending order in size. For example, $ du -k . 1111111 ./dir1 222222222 ./dir2 333333333 ./dir3 444444444 ./dir4 How do i get the above desired result with du -k . command? Thanks (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: welldone
1 Replies

4. Solaris

Directory size larger than file system size?

Hi, We currently have an Oracle database running and it is creating lots of processes in the /proc directory that are 1000M in size. The size of the /proc directory is now reading 26T. How can this be if the root file system is only 13GB? I have seen this before we an Oracle temp file... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: sparcman
6 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers