Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: untaring multiple files
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting untaring multiple files Post 302102315 by rinceboy on Tuesday 9th of January 2007 06:52:34 PM
Old 01-09-2007
untaring multiple files

Hi,
i'm pretty new to unix and shell scripting and i need to untar a load of files all with different names e.g. YAAN00.V404.T13467.tar, YAAN00.V404.T15623.tar etc with the .T* part following no particular series.
I tried to untar them in a script using simply

tar -xvf YAAN00.V404.T*.tar

but it doesnt work. Can anyone help??

Thanks in advance,
RINCEBOY

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Untaring *.tar.tar files

Hi all, How to untar a file with .tar.tar extension. A utility that i downloaded from net had this extension. Thanks in advance, bubeshj. (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: bubeshj
6 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Using AWK: Extract data from multiple files and output to multiple new files

Hi, I'd like to process multiple files. For example: file1.txt file2.txt file3.txt Each file contains several lines of data. I want to extract a piece of data and output it to a new file. file1.txt ----> newfile1.txt file2.txt ----> newfile2.txt file3.txt ----> newfile3.txt Here is... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Liverpaul09
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Recursively UNTARing and then TARing back

I've just finished writing a shell script that searches for a string recursively in all text files and replace them with another string. Now, all these files come from a location nested deep within some TAR files which are inside another mother TAR. To make my script work, we had been UNTARing... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: exchequer598
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk, multiple files input and multiple files output