Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting failed to access directory thru ftp Post 302102205 by DILEEP410 on Tuesday 9th of January 2007 04:07:43 AM
Old 01-09-2007
failed to access directory thru ftp

Hi all,

I am a beginner to unix and ftp too.So i request your valuable comments.

Requirement:
I want to put a specific file into a server(linux) and under a particular directory path in that server as /caps/details/data/

Problem :
I login to that server through the command `ftp hostname` and i tried to change the directory path as cd /caps/details/data
but it was showing
550 Failed to change directory.

But i am sure that the directory path is there and i can rwx scripts too in that directory,problem is only thru ftp.Would anyone pls give my some idea
as fast as you can ?

Your help is appreciated.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Restrict FTP access to a single directory for only one user.

Hi All, It will be very great if you can help me in this issue. Thanks in advance. I need to enable FTP on a solaris9 server. I need to create a new user some "xxxxxx" and he can only FTP the files to and from between /tftpboot directory and network devices. Other users should not... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: santhoshkumar_d
8 Replies

2. Solaris

FTP login failed.

Hi guys, Can you please help me. I have SUN V100 server running solaris 8. I also have a Redhat Linux 6.2 machine and a windows XP machine on the network. I'm trying to copy files from the Linux and XP machines to the V100 server. When I try to ftp to the solaris machine, I'm challenged... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Stin
2 Replies

3. Solaris

Restricting FTP access for a particular directory