Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers What is the main difference between grep and sed Post 302101855 by blowtorch on Friday 5th of January 2007 03:08:47 AM
Old 01-05-2007
This is homework. Please don't post any homework questions. Against the rules.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers

Difference grep, egrep and fgrep

Hi All, Can anyone please explain me the difference between grep, egrep and fgrep with examples. I am new to unix environment.. Your help is highly appreciated. Regards, ravi (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ravind27
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Difference between '.*' and .* in grep

Hi What is the difference between grep '.*' xx and grep .* xx? What grep .* xx command will do where xx is file name. Thanks Sas (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: SasDutta
4 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Difference between grep, egrep & grep -i

Hi All, Please i need to know the difference between grep, egrep & grep -i when used to serach through a file. My platform is SunOS 5.9 & i'm using the korn shell. Regards, - divroro12 - (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: divroro12
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

help with SED + GREP

HI all, i have a line in a file it contains Code: one;two_1_10;two_2_10;two_3_10;three~ now i need to get the output as Code: one;two_1_abc_10;two_2_abc_10;two_3_abc_10;three~ ( 1 should be replaced with 1_abc for two__abc_10 , and one more thing the number of occurances of... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: 2001.arun
6 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Difference between 2 grep - commands

Hi, I need to know the difference between this commands: grep * *search* grep "*" *search* As far as i know does the 2nd command search for files which have a name with *search* and greps then all which have chars from a-z in the file content. But was does the first command?? Best... (1 Reply)