Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Problem when passing argument to a shell script Post 302099595 by sumesh.abraham on Wednesday 13th of December 2006 04:49:27 AM
Old 12-13-2006
Problem when passing argument to a shell script

Hi all,

I'm new to Shell scripting. In my shell script for Bourne shell, the script accepts a date parameter which is optional. If the value is supplied, the supplied value should be assigned to a variable. If not, the current date will be assigned to the variable. My script is like this.

Code:
#! /bin/sh

if [ ! -z $1 ]
then
dateval=`date`
elif [ $dateval -gt date ];then
echo "Supplied date is greater than current date"
else
 dateval=$1
fi
echo $dateval

When i run the script, it says

./shellpgm30.sh: test: argument expected

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Sumesh
sumesh.abraham

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Problem with Argument Passing

Greetings, I am wrapping the monitoring commands like vmstat, sar, iostat and call via arguments I want ./unix_stats.sh -v vmstat -p <SEC> -d <Duration> to give vmstat values, and similarly iostat etc.,. Also if I give ./unix_stats.sh -v vmstat -i iostat -p <SEC> -d <Duration> should give... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: A_Rod
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Problem in argument passing

Hell all, i have a problem in argument passing. print() { a=$1 b=$2 c=$3 echo $a echo $b echo $c } x="1 2 3" y="4 5 6" z="7 8 9" print $x $y $z. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: tsaravanan
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

passing argument to shell script that reads user inputs

Hi, Lets say I have a script "ss" which does this read abc echo $abc read pqr echo $pqr Now if I want to pass and argument to only "abc" how do I do it. If I do echo "somevalue" | ss, it does not prompt for pqr and its value comes out as blank. Any help is appreciated Thanks P (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: patjones