Sponsored Content
Top Forums Programming Question about compiling (noob) Post 302098380 by arya6000 on Sunday 3rd of December 2006 10:18:17 PM
Old 12-03-2006
Question about compiling (noob)

I'm just getting started to lean C and I'm using Ubuntu today I found a tutorial at this site: http://einstein.drexel.edu/courses/C..._tutorial.html and I got an error after compiling the fist code:

Code:
#include < stdio.h>

void main()
{
    printf("\nHello World\n");
}

I try to compile it with: "cc hello.c" and got this error:

Code:
arya@arya-computer:~/Desktop$ cc hello.c
hello.c:1:20: error:  stdio.h: No such file or directory
hello.c: In function ‘main':
hello.c:5: warning: incompatible implicit declaration of built-in function ‘printf'
hello.c:4: warning: return type of ‘main' is not ‘int'

Why isn't this working is it because I'm using Ubuntu instead of FreeBSD?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Noob sorting question

Ok here is the deal, I have a command given to me by some systems guy who I cannot get ahold of on the weekend without paying him alot of money to help me. I need to get this done before Monday as I am just getting pummeled by DOS attacks. The comand given was.... netstat -ntu | awk '{print... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Hexabah
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Noob question on comparing #'s.

I have a file with 3 digit numbers in it formatted as such: 123 065 321 How would I go about seeing if each number is less than 100 and if so outputting it to another file Yes, I am a bit of a noob. I have tried with grep but I don't think it'll work. Any general direction would be... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: kirkm76
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

noob question about redirecting stderr