Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help with script, trying to get tcpdump and rotate the file every 300 seconds Post 302097134 by dhanamurthy on Wednesday 22nd of November 2006 02:06:31 AM
Old 11-22-2006
I have two questions .

1. What is the error you are getting ?.
2. From your code i understand that it sleeps for 2 seconds and takes a tcpdump. But your requirement is for 5 minutes. Your script changes names for every two seconds.
Sleep takes seconds as its arugment.

Let me know if this helps ........

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl script to rotate logs

I have a shell script that will gzip/tar/archive application logs that are over 20 days old which works just fine, but I would like to convert to a Perl script. Problem is, I'm a beginner with Perl and all attempts so far have failed. Basicaly I have a log dir /app/logs that contains several... (18 Replies)
Discussion started by: theninja
18 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script for Log Rotate

Hello, I only know the basic for shell programing. I need help for this, I thinks this is a basic for anyone who know a litle of shell scripting. I need creat a script for a rotatate logs, when a filesystem is full. I have a filesystem. The rotate consist in zip the current log (copy) and... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: El Rengo
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

cron script to rotate log files

I have a mac server. I have been having problems with my logs. My hard disk became full, when i researched into why it was full it was due to massive log files. There was barley any log rotation policies in place on the server. I tired to use logrotate. This doesn't work on my server. It is a MAC... (19 Replies)
Discussion started by: timgolding
19 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with a rotate log script