Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: String Array
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers String Array Post 302096399 by tmarikle on Wednesday 15th of November 2006 11:09:01 AM
Old 11-15-2006
Code:
str="name1,name2,name3, "

typeset IFS=' ,'
for i in $str
do
    echo $i
done

works with both ", " and ","

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

string to array

Hi Experts, I'm new to Shell Scripting world and need a little help from you "Scripting Gurus". I want to convert a string (entered by a user) to array in csh. I want something like this: echo "Enter the Numbers: " set num = $< Suppose, user enters: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 This... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: sumitgarg
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to convert array into the string

Hi I have a line/string as follows: A=" 3498 NORDEA - INDX LINKED NORY" which was converted into an array of characters: p321$ echo "${ARR}" 3 4 9 8 N O R D E A - I N D X L I N K E D N O R Y When I am trying print this array there are blank... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: aoussenko
4 Replies

3. Programming

String Array in java

Hi , I wonder how I can set up an String array in java. I need the array so I can store different items per line so each item will be like one record. I tried something like : String x = new String; but when it comes to storing the data and retrieve the is when I struggle. The... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: arizah
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

PERL : Read an array and write to another array with intial string pattern checks

I have an array and two variables as below, I need to check if $datevar is present in $filename. If so, i need to replace $filename with the values in the array. I need the output inside an ARRAY How can this be done. Any help will be appreciated. Thanks in advance. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: irudayaraj
2 Replies

5. Homework & Coursework Questions