Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: String Array
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers String Array Post 302096397 by tmarikle on Wednesday 15th of November 2006 11:07:03 AM
Old 11-15-2006
Here's my favorite way of doing this, similar to justsam but without piping $str through tr (UUOtr Smilie )

Code:
str="name1, name2, name3, "

typeset IFS=' ,'
for i in $str
do
    echo $i$i                                                                                                                                                       
done

This User Gave Thanks to tmarikle For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

string to array

Hi Experts, I'm new to Shell Scripting world and need a little help from you "Scripting Gurus". I want to convert a string (entered by a user) to array in csh. I want something like this: echo "Enter the Numbers: " set num = $< Suppose, user enters: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 This... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: sumitgarg
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to convert array into the string

Hi I have a line/string as follows: A=" 3498 NORDEA - INDX LINKED NORY" which was converted into an array of characters: p321$ echo "${ARR}" 3 4 9 8 N O R D E A - I N D X L I N K E D N O R Y When I am trying print this array there are blank... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: aoussenko
4 Replies

3. Programming

String Array in java

Hi , I wonder how I can set up an String array in java. I need the array so I can store different items per line so each item will be like one record. I tried something like : String x = new String; but when it comes to storing the data and retrieve the is when I struggle. The... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: arizah
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

PERL : Read an array and write to another array with intial string pattern checks