Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Naming a socket
Top Forums Programming Naming a socket Post 302095605 by geester on Wednesday 8th of November 2006 11:17:36 AM
Old 11-08-2006
Naming a socket

Im not very experienced with C so this is probably a basic question. I have a script that opens up 5 sockets, it then runs through a loop and on a given event reconnects to the relevant socket and sends some data. The socket to be reconnected to is kept track of with a 'count' variable. The sockets are named s0,s1,s2 etc. This is the code I have to send the data:

Code:
if (count == 0) write(s0,"some data",9);
if (count == 1) write(s1,"some data",9);
if (count == 2) write(s2,"some data",9);
if (count == 3) write(s3,"some data",9);
if (count == 4) write(s4,"dome data",9);

Instead of this I simply want to use:

write(s+count,"some data",9)

But how do I append the count integer onto the 's'

Thanks, G

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Controller Naming

Hello all, How does the Solaris identifies the controller subscript ? ( like c0txdxs0 or c1txdxsx ?? ) I have a unix box ( Ultra 30) running with 2.5.1. When I connected an external hard disk to the on-board scsi port, it got identified as c0t1dxsx... (... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: shibz
1 Replies

2. Programming

Socket Programming socket

Hello, I actually try to make client-server program. I'm using SCO OpenServer Release 5.0.0 and when I try to compile my code (by TELNET) I've got this error : I'm just using this simple code : and I get the same error if I use : If someone can help me, Thanks (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: soshell
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

connect problem for sctp socket (ipv6 socket) - Runtime fail Invalid Arguments