Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: V890 Benefits over V880
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users V890 Benefits over V880 Post 302092415 by si_linux on Monday 9th of October 2006 03:42:38 PM
Old 10-09-2006
Hi there,

I have been investigating the differences between a V880 and V890 as we currently have a V880 and want to get a DR box of similar spec.

As far as I can see the main difference is the fact the V890 can use the UltraSparc IV+ processors. This is a good thing as the IV+'s are multicored processors (as far as I can tell) which allow for a higher performance for a given number of processors over the V880.

Again from what I can tell the backplane is the same.

The only reason why I would push for a V890 is the potential for the awesome dualcore processors and having a much more powerful platform. Given that Solaris 10 is all pushing zones and containers this may be beneficial.

Hope that helped - it is just my thoughts - and again I am not an expert on SUN (although I would like to be one day!!).

Si

6 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

Installing Solaris 8 on a V890

Question, I have a new V890 preloaded witrh Solaris 10. Due to SW compatibility I need to run Sol 8 on the server. When running boot cdrom from the ok prompt, I get amessages looking for a location on the CDROM to find the startup install SW. The path must be different from what's on Sol 10 install... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: stocksj
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

What are some benefits of the UNIX hierarchical file structure?

What are some benefits of the UNIX hierarchical file structure? I am new to UNIX and researching some information about it for a class so please help if you can. Thanks. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: 88923JJJSDK
1 Replies

3. Solaris

HBA problem...? at SF V890