Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Equivalent to locate
Operating Systems Solaris Equivalent to locate Post 302091897 by reborg on Thursday 5th of October 2006 05:00:49 PM
Old 10-05-2006
In that case why not just grep /var/sadm/install/contents?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

not able to locate SSH

In our unix environment I'm not able to locate where ssh is located. can any one guide me in finding the location of this tool. (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: bishweshwar
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

script to locate servers

I am a newbie in shell scripting and I need to produce a script to work and achieve the following: 1) Look into the file /etc/defaultrouter , and store the value in it 2) If the value is a number, go to LIST and print out the second column corresponding to the value.(eg London) 3) If the... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: ibroxy
5 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

command locate.

Hi, I am aware of the command locate/slocate. But when I try to search the file which is located in /tmp. Its not able to get it. I tried by updating the database also with the command updatedb. Is there any consern that the command 'locate' dont check /tmp??? And I knew that locate is the... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: praveen_b744
5 Replies

4. Linux

Help to locate the files

I m new to the linux environment.Help me with ur suggestions. How can i obtain the file names alone from ls -ltr output?? And those files should have been created before three months and earlier than that.. Thanks and wishes, Rupaa. (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: Rupaa
8 Replies

5. AIX

Locate command

Hello to all, Can I use the "locate" command on AIX 5.3 like on Linux. If yes what packages should I install and where can I find them. Thanks, Enid (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: enux
9 Replies

6. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Usage of locate