Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Some basic questions
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Some basic questions Post 302091392 by vgersh99 on Monday 2nd of October 2006 03:03:07 PM
Old 10-02-2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corona688

You can tell what shell you're in like this:
Code:
$ echo "${SHELL}"
/bin/bash
$

no, this doesn't work.
Code:
$ echo $0
-bash
$ echo $SHELL
/usr/local/bin/bash
$ csh
>echo $0
csh
>echo $SHELL
/usr/local/bin/bash
>

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Slackware

Basic networking questions.

Hey, I'm new to Linux. I have a few questions about it. I run Slackware. After the installation the Linux installation had problems with my old hardware (network card, sound card) so I removed them and Linux would start. But now, I can't seem to use the network card in Linux because it's not... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: RellioN
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

basic UNIX questions

Can somebody please tell me a little about UNIX OS. For instance, is it ideal for digital media or how easy is it to get help and support? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: buk5d
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Basic SFTP questions

I'm trying to find out what all is involved with setting up SFTP? 1) Do Solaris machines come with a SFTP server and client already installed. 2) If so would I have to install SFTP clients on windows, if I want to transfer files to a Solaris box? 3) If SFTP doesn't come prepackaged would I... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: JohnRodey
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Basic Unix Questions

OK, here's a question from a true UNIX newb: How does one make a 20 line file? I'm lost. :confused: OK, I figured it out. :D (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: Kitchen Zinc
0 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Basic variable questions