Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Get the most recent file from a remote server Post 302090740 by anujairaj on Wednesday 27th of September 2006 08:48:03 AM
Old 09-27-2006
Got it.
But it is a pretty crude method.
Liste the files on the local machine.
sorted and got the most recent file.
Again FTP'ed to the remote server and did a 'get' to get the recent file.
I wonder if there is a way to do it in one shot.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. HP-UX

Transfer file from local unix server to remote server

want to remove the thread thanks (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: indira
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Transfer file from local unix server to remote server

want to remove this thread. thanks (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: indira
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Re: Recent acquired HP E-45 Sco -Unix Server

I am studying IT - CIS in school. I do not know to much programming (a little javascript maybe). I have Ethernet for my regular computer win - xp Sp 2 that I utilize for school, and would like to use the Ethernet to hook up my newly acquired E-45 Server at my house, in order to see if it works... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: little bo
0 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Use cURL in shell script and get most recent file from remote server using SFTP

I have been trying to implement the following shell script -- sftp to remote server get list of files in the directory sftp get the most recent listed file exit This script will be scheduled to be executed everyday using CRON or CONTROL-M and the need is to have absolutely no human... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: toobrown1
7 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

preserving the timestamp of a file when copied from remote server to local server using ftp