Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Solaris stop a process to start at system startup Post 302089765 by BOFH on Wednesday 20th of September 2006 04:34:40 PM
Old 09-20-2006
Check /etc/rc2.d for the file S88sendmail (for example). It's a symbolic link to /etc/init.d/sendmail. If either rename it to "s88sendmail" for example (lower case 's'), or delete it, it won't start on boot.

Carl

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

AIX 5.3: Start Service on System startup

Hi, I'm new to AIX, and have to make some services start at system startup. The IBM-Redbook says I have to edit /etc/inittab. As a long time (Debian)-Linux Admin I'm a bit confused. Is there something like /etc/init.d/$SERVICE in AIX? Greetings, Dennis (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: dennis.kuehl
1 Replies

2. Solaris

stop solaris 8 sendmail from running on startup

sorry i got this already... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: itik
3 Replies

3. SuSE

start services during the startup

I'm trying to add services to start services automatically during the system start up in suse linux. I followed these steps.. chkconfig servicename on and created symbolic link at /etc/rc.d/rc3.d/ folder with name S80servicename. here is the command I used ln -s /etc/init.d/servicename... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: s_linux
8 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Start/Stop process when a file is modified.

I have a file which is modified via a web application & this may happen during any time of the day/week. This file is being used a config/list file for another shell script which runs 24hrs with a sleep of 200 secs. I have writted a small script to kill the shell script when this config file is... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Lancel0t
4 Replies

5. AIX

HACMP version 5.4 startup and stop scripts

Hi My hacmp version is 5.4 and it is a active passive cluster. Where can I find the startup and stop scripts? Please assist. Thanks. (2 Replies)