Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: while loop from list
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting while loop from list Post 302088633 by forever_49ers on Wednesday 13th of September 2006 03:33:05 PM
Old 09-13-2006
awesome, thanks.

Since I am new to this, would it be possible to explain what this command does step by step ?

thanks
Steffen

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Use file as list in for loop...

Can I use a file as the list in a for loop? I tried it like this: workstation=( $(cat /home/me/file) ) for ws in $workstation do command done The contents of file are like: abc def ghi It only read the initial line. Does each item have to be quoted? Do they have to all be... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: earnstaf
11 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

List & While Loop

I want to store a set of string values in a 1-D array and then iterate the list by using a loop. Please help this dummy:) (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ngagemaniac
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Displaying list of backup files using for loop

Hi, I want to display list of last 10 backup files (with numbering) from the temporary file c:/tmp/tmp_list_bkp.txt Example : 1) backup_file1 2) backup_file2 3) backup_file3 ........ ........ I tried as below but not working. for file in c:/tmp/tmp_list_bkp.txt do echo... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: milink
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

For Loop for a list of tab delimited variables

Hello, I need to run a command for a set of input variables that are present in a tab delimited file, a sample of which is shown below: 1 3749 1 4129 1 5980 2 6201 2 9925 2 6894 3 1338 3 6477 3 6242 3 3632 Every row represents the two input values... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Gussifinknottle
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to loop(Iterate) through List with foreach(csh)