Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Bourne Shell script - log for users loggin on and off Post 302088028 by noodlesoup on Friday 8th of September 2006 05:27:45 AM
Old 09-08-2006
Bourne Shell script - log for users logging on and off

Hello all, I'm new to shell scripting and want to make a script that I can write to log the users logging on and off the a unix system.

I have had a good look over the past few days to crack it, I think I am getting close.

I want a script that runs an infinite loop to check every 5 seconds to report on who logs into and who logs out of the unix system.

This is a example of the output I would like:

PHP Code:
The current users are:
abc1
rv0
sxu
tgray

No user has logged in
/out in the last 5 seconds.

No user has logged in/out in the last 5 seconds.

User rsmith has logged in.

No user has logged in/out in the last 5 seconds.

User abc1 has logged out.

No user has logged in/out in the last 5 seconds
I am using
who | awk '{print $1}' | sort > temp1
to get the users logged on and saving that into a temp file.

and have a while loop set up like this which will run each 5 seconds.

while true
do
sleep 5
done

The problem I'm having is, I can't work out how to compare the current users logged in to the users that have previously logged in.

I thought of making a second temp file that stores the current users then using:
cmp temp1 temp2
to look at the difference. problem is it gives me an output saying "file differs at character 42, line 6" and that isn't helping me much as I would like to then display that users name but not sure how to print that position in the file (or just a line for that matter).

The test to see if the user has logged on or off is easy, as it is only a couple of if statements.

like if user is in temp1 but not in temp2 then the user has logged out and vice versa.