Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: wc command confusion
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers wc command confusion Post 302088009 by Dhruva on Friday 8th of September 2006 02:45:19 AM
Old 09-08-2006
What i found is echo put newline character at the end of string and which can be omitted by using \c escape sequence.
\c output string without newline character.
similar thing can be achieved by echo -n but i dont have echo with -n option.

ksh's echo, does not have a -n option. sh's echo and /usr/bin/echo only have a -n option if the SYSV3 environment variable is set.
/usr/ucb/echo has -n option.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

ftp confusion

I'm an intern at a company that recently bought out another business. In doing so, they inherited a unix system that contains files which they need to retrieve. No one in the company, including myself, really understands or knows unix so please respond with the true assumption that I'm a unix... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: intern
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

'tr' confusion

Good day, everyone! Could anybody explain me the following situation. If I'm running similar script: Var="anna.kurnikova" Var2="Anna Kurn" echo $Var | tr -t "$Var" "$Var2" Why the output is : anna KurniKova instead of Anna Kurnikova? :confused: Thank you in advance for any... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Nafanja
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Mail command confusion

When i run this command on my linux machine: mail -s "CVS ALERT-CRITCAL" sandy@xyz.com The system hangs up producing a dead letter. What should i do to resolve this. I am using : mailx -s "CVS ALERT-CRITCAL" sandy@xyz.com This cammnd works fine on another Linux machine but says"... (14 Replies)
Discussion started by: bsandeep_80
14 Replies

4. Solaris

Printer confusion