Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: wc command confusion
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers wc command confusion Post 302087859 by Dhruva on Wednesday 6th of September 2006 10:40:01 AM
Old 09-06-2006
wc command confusion

Can somebody explain it to me that why wc gives more chars suppose
Ab.txt have two lines
qwer
qasd
then wc -c ab.txt will give 10.why not 8.okay may be it is taking count one for each line just in case but why echo "qwer"|wc -C gives 5.

Ok with \c it is returning 4. Smilie

Last edited by Dhruva; 09-06-2006 at 11:46 AM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

ftp confusion

I'm an intern at a company that recently bought out another business. In doing so, they inherited a unix system that contains files which they need to retrieve. No one in the company, including myself, really understands or knows unix so please respond with the true assumption that I'm a unix... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: intern
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

'tr' confusion

Good day, everyone! Could anybody explain me the following situation. If I'm running similar script: Var="anna.kurnikova" Var2="Anna Kurn" echo $Var | tr -t "$Var" "$Var2" Why the output is : anna KurniKova instead of Anna Kurnikova? :confused: Thank you in advance for any... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Nafanja
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Mail command confusion

When i run this command on my linux machine: mail -s "CVS ALERT-CRITCAL" sandy@xyz.com The system hangs up producing a dead letter. What should i do to resolve this. I am using : mailx -s "CVS ALERT-CRITCAL" sandy@xyz.com This cammnd works fine on another Linux machine but says"... (14 Replies)
Discussion started by: bsandeep_80
14 Replies

4. Solaris

Printer confusion