Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: snmpd modification problem
Operating Systems AIX snmpd modification problem Post 302087837 by helloajith on Wednesday 6th of September 2006 06:33:25 AM
Old 09-06-2006
snmpd modification problem

Hi Gurus,

I am relatively new in AIX.
I have a problem in modifying the community string in snmpd.
I have edited the /etc/snmpd.conf file and changed the default community name 'public' to new one (P@@$w0rd).
When I tried to query my aix server with the new string , it is not giving any response. But when tried with the community string public, it responds.
I killed the snmpd and snmpmibd daemons , and restarted both.
Still it is not responding with new string.

Can anybody help to resolve this..... the OS version 5.2

With thanks in advance

Ajith.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

snmpd daemon error

Good day I always find these error messages on /var/adm/messages it appear every 15 mn , does any body know how to stop these messages without stopping the daemon , i tried to restart the daemon by uising Kill -HUP 332 please find below the error messages that appear always in... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: itsgeorge
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

mrtg+snmpd count traffic

i just wonder how to count total traffic and traffic on specified ports (e.g. 192.168.0.1:139 and etc.. ). How can it be done? (FreeBSD 6.2 i386) Thx. (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: hachik
5 Replies

3. Linux

Snmpd

Hello to all. For setting my MRTG i want get snmp-info with LAN interface eth0 but information about snmpd daemon very small :( (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: jess_t03
0 Replies

4. Solaris

snmpd manager question