Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Remove content from file
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Remove content from file Post 302087303 by mpang_ on Wednesday 30th of August 2006 11:29:47 PM
Old 08-31-2006
the problem is I can only modify the file, writing the entries to another file is not an option. Can anyone help?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

remove space from file content

i am a bit new to shell scripting i have a file containing xxxx xx xx but i want to output the content as xxxxxxxx. thus removing the space. any idea how i can do this (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: blackzinga
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Remove specific content in a file

Hi, I have a file called fl_list consists of files i have to archive. I want to create a exception parm called except_parm, so if it finds the directory it will not archive these files and remove from fl_list. $ cat fl_list /apps/dev/ihub/ready/IA003B/IA003B_Deal_Header_yyyymmdd_hhmmss.txt... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: k9cheung
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with remove duplicate content and only keep the first content detail

Input data_10 SSA data_2 TYUE data_3 PEOCV data_6 SSAT data_21 SSA data_19 TYUEC data_14 TYUE data_15 SSA data_32 PEOCV . . Desired Output data_10 SSA data_2 TYUE data_3 PEOCV data_6 SSAT data_19 TYUEC (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: patrick87
9 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell script to remove some content in a file

How can I remove all data that contain domain e.g zzgh@something.com, sdd@something.com.my and gg@something.my in one file? so that i only have data without the domain in the file. Here is the file structure "test.out" more test.out 1 zzztop@b.com 1 zzzulll 1 zzzullll@s.com.my ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Mr_47
4 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with remove duplicate content