Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Network noobie question
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Network noobie question Post 302084356 by 3rr0r_3rr0r on Thursday 10th of August 2006 03:17:23 PM
Old 08-10-2006
Network noobie question

This is my first attempt in installing a netbsd ever. I'm trying to get myself familiar with some commands and how things work in unix and so far i never knew its this fun. Anyway, unix is our elective here in school and school is gonna start 2 weeks. I'm just trying to get a headstart on this Smilie

I'm having some problems setting up the network and all.

I believe the network card (w3g11t) is being detected and according to the stuff I read in the netbsd forums its supported. Problem is, it just wont detect DHCP on my router, even my router is DHCP enabled.

My network skills are limited and I just want to check where can I get these values in my router or in my windowsxp.

1.Where can I get the value of my IPv4 number?
2.Where can I get the value of my IPv4 Netmask?
3.Where can I get the value of my IPv4 gateway?
4.Where can I get the value of my IPv4 name server?

anyone knows where I put the values of my from those four?
IP Address:
Subnet Mask:
Default Gateway:
DNS 1:
DNS 2:
DNS 3:

like....is the IP address value should be the same as the IPv4 number....IPv4 Netmask value should be the same as the Subnet Mask....

need help. Smilie

Last edited by 3rr0r_3rr0r; 08-10-2006 at 04:41 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Network question

Hey, Just need a little help I'm not sure wat I should do. We have several little networks setup for testing different things. One of these networks we need to have running at full dulpex. Right now we run 2 hubs (to go off to 2 differnt parts) and they are half dulpex hubs. Is is... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: merlin
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Unix Noobie Needs help with scripting