Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: parsing problem with script
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting parsing problem with script Post 302082697 by mike@freddiemac on Thursday 3rd of August 2006 02:44:34 AM
Old 08-03-2006
Question parsing problem with script

I'm trying to parse the variables out of a comma delimited expression, but i'm having trouble with script:

num_var=1
while [ $num_var -lt 4 ]
do
a=`echo "a=7, b=8, c=9" | awk '{print $num_var}' | cut -d= -f2`
b=`echo $a | cut -d, -f1`
echo $b
num_var=`expr $num_var + 1`
done

the output is:

I know the problem is in the statement print $num_var ... for each time in the loop I want that print statement to be "print $1" then "print $2" then "print $3". How would I go about doing this using my num_var expression?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Problem parsing line in file

I am VERY new to unix scripting. I am having trouble parsing a line into fields for further processing. I have this script: #bin/sh cat ztest2.txt | while read line do zvar1=`echo $line | cut -f6` echo "zvar1 is " $zvar1 done ******************** ztest2.txt looks like: 1 ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rlwilli
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk parsing problem

I need help with a problem that I have not been able to figure out. I have a file that is about 650K lines. Records are seperated by blank lines, fields seperated by new lines. I was trying to make a report that would add up 2 fields and associate them with a CP. example output would be... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: timj123
11 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Parsing problem

I need to separate out the contents in the string "xyz","1233","cm_asdfasdf" as xyz,1233,cm_asdfasdf Can anyone help me on this?? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Sushir03
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Parsing problem