Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Making a system call
Top Forums Programming Making a system call Post 302078949 by hardwickj on Wednesday 5th of July 2006 05:47:02 PM
Old 07-05-2006
Making a system call

This is a total nooby question, but here goes...

I am trying to do something in C for the very first time, and doing it in Solaris, for the very first time. It would otherwise be easy enough to test out and find out, but I wont be able to do so until the week after next for various reasons, so I was just wondering if this would work...

I am replacing a script file with C code. The script starts out such as:

#!/bin/ksh
export BUILD_DIR=`cat /nssn/cm/current_build`
export HOSTNAME=`hostname`
echo ColdStart>$BUILD_DIR/logs/StartType
etc...

so, can I just replace that with system calls such as:

system("#!/bin/ksh");
system("export BUILD_DIR=`cat /nssn/cm/current_build`");
system("export HOSTNAME=`hostname`");
etc...

At first I thought yes but then I wondered, does each system call sort of call in a different shell? If so, would the environment variable defined in one system call be seen from another system call?

If that is a problem, is there any way to do all of the system calls in a single system call?

Help a noob out...and thanks for any help in advance!!!

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Making a SOAP call from within unix shell scripts

Hi guys, Is it possible to make SOAP calls from within Unix shell scripts? I need to access a web service from within UNIX in order to lookup something while I am doing some parsing on a file. Regards, Laud (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Laud12345
2 Replies

2. Linux

Making Socket System Call From Linux Kernel Module?