Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting For Loop with Strings as parameters Post 302077779 by kadishmj on Monday 26th of June 2006 10:37:58 AM
Old 06-26-2006
Thanks for everyone's suggestions. I finally got it working:

Code:
OUTFILE=summary.out
a='Deadlocks detected'
b='Lock escalations'

for PARAM in "${a}" "${b}"
do

echo ${PARAM}

COUNT=1

while ((COUNT < 41))
   do
      INFILE=DB2Snapshot_${1}_${COUNT}.log
      /usr/bin/grep "${PARAM}" ${INFILE} >> ${OUTFILE}

((COUNT=COUNT+1))
   done
done

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Urgent:Comparing two Strings using If Loop

Hi All, Please help me out in this... I am new to scripting How to compare two strings by using the same string in single loop, I am using ksh for ex:see the code snippet below I am writing in java, Can u guys tell me that in scripting if ("string1"=="string2" ||... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Anji
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Parameters in loop

Hi, I am trying to write a script which will read inputs form user and process those files, I have issue reading the input parameters in a loop. Following is the script... I run the script as ./Script.sh 3 table1 table 2 table3 NumberOfTables=$1 let TableCount=1 while do ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: mgirinath
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

for loop logic with multiple parameters

hi, unix wizards, i have a question about the logic of my inner for loop below. first, what i am trying to do is to write a script called create_account that automatically creates mysql accounts. the user can provide a user_name or a group_id as an argument (and the script can take multiple... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ankimo
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

bash if loop for checking multiple parameters