Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Shell basics
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Shell basics Post 302076731 by grumpf on Thursday 15th of June 2006 10:07:50 AM
Old 06-15-2006
$(( )) is added later and is used for mathematics foo=$(( 1+1+1+1+1 ))

[ $foo -eq 0 ] is calling test with arguments $foo -eq 0

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Basics of shell scripting

Anybody please tell me basics of shell scripts (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: arvind.elle
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk basics

what is wrong with the code below; it starts ,then does nothing, (even it doesn't end) #!/bin/awk x=1 b="foo" awk printf("%s got a %d on the last test\n","Jim",83) myout=("%s-%d",b,x) print myout (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: gfhgfnhhn
6 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Installation basics

hello, Im new to this Os. so, can i get any information'bout installation basics of unix. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Abhijit Bhatt
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

SHELL Scripting Basics

Hi, I am new to shell scripting, i have experience in solaris, can anyone share me the link and experience to learn shell scripting from basics Thanks RJS (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rajasekg
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

LEARN SHELL SCRIPTING BASICS

I am beginner to the SHELL SCRIPT and want to Learn SHELL SCRIPT Basics. This thread should help to all beginners who want to learn SHELL SCRIPT *** Thanks in advance to those who will contribute on this thread *** Please guide me and all beginners... 1. Is there any good e-book... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sagarsbhandare
3 Replies

6. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

help me with basics