Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users conversion of a input function to i18n Post 302075962 by cbkihong on Wednesday 7th of June 2006 09:31:08 PM
Old 06-07-2006
Try to verify the codepoints you get getting are really Unicode codepoints, as you can cross check the character-codepoint mappings with the Unicode character database online, and that your console really supports multibyte UTF-8 characters. Bear in mind that you may need to do some conversion between the legacy Japanese encoding and UTF-8 with iconv in certain environments. Also check whether you have the Unicode fonts which contain the Japanese characters on your OS, and whether those fonts are indeed used to render the console text.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk - input function

hello, im a newbie. how can i input data from keyboard? thanks. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Jariya
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Date format conversion function

Hello, does somebody knows about a function that would convert a date like: YYMMDD into a date like YYYY-MM-DD ? Thank you for your ideas :) (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: Cecile
9 Replies

3. Linux

Help regarding understanding of i18N and L10N concepts

Hi everyone, I would like to have good understanding of i18N & L10N implementations in Linux. What does it mean actually,interms of software development? Where it is used and how it is used? It would be more helpful to me, if anyone send me the links to "basics of i18N... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: Aeon
0 Replies

4. AIX

function trace back and address to line number conversion

Hi, I am new to AIX and I am developing a small tool for our product which helps debug memory leaks etc. Q1)Is there a way in which i can get a function trace back as to the call (lets say malloc() )has been made in which file--> in which function. I tried using the #pragma options (... (0 Replies)