Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Compressing folders
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Compressing folders Post 302075168 by vino on Wednesday 31st of May 2006 08:44:29 AM
Old 05-31-2006
Use zip with the -r option.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Compressing files

I have never used this command before. I need to use the "compress" command to compress all files located in the subdirectories under the following directories: /home/ftp/inbound/Fordin Please advise, I appreciate your help. Thanks, Syed (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sh9492
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

compressing two files in a script

Hi, i have written a script in unix which produces two files(.csv file) at the end. Now i want to add these to files in a zip file and send the zip file across the network by FTP. Problem is that i dunno how to make a single zip file containing the two files that have been created by the script.... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: nimish
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

compressing a string

HI, let say I have file having name "skp 27.doc". There is space between skp and 27. now I want to rename this file . So please let me know how is it possible? one more issue ............. let say a=5 echo $a output is 5. Again a= 4 echo $a wha will be the output? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: surjyap
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

compressing a directory

I have a pretty large directory on a backup hard drive. I have Tiger for an OS, what would be the best way to compress this directory. there is a large number of files inside in addition if that makes a difference any help appreciated hopefully thanks in advance (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: cleansing_flame
2 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Compressing several directories