Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Is there such thing as Global Env Variable for all users? Post 302073202 by umen on Thursday 11th of May 2006 02:31:09 AM
Old 05-11-2006
Is there such thing as Global Env Variable for all users?

Hello
im using SunOS and its great , I know I can setenv global environment variable per user
but my question is can I setenv global environment variable in more higher level ( maybe some kind of root user or something) so that every users will
see the same value of this global env

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

setting global variable for all users

hi, i am a newbie unix administrator. i want to set a variable, let's say : alias cls 'clear' But i am not going to add this line in the .login file for every home directory of my 500+ users. pls tell me where should i put this line in, so that all users can use this variable after... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: champion
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Managing Users in a Global Environment

Hello, I am interested in your strategy for handling engineers Unix accounts when the engineers must log in to resources in a variety of locals in a global environment. The engineers home directory and normal environment is local to where the engineer is sitting. When they log in to a remote... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: Randal
0 Replies

3. Solaris

Root ENV is different from users', how to change?

Hello, I'm working on a Solaris 9 machine. I found the root's environment variables (say, $PATH, $ORACLE_HOME, big problem) were set differently from the users'. All regular users use C shell now and share the same environment file stored in /usr/local/config/cshrc.default. Should I just use... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: alanlh
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Env Variable