Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: alias and sudo
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users alias and sudo Post 302073093 by sumitpandya on Wednesday 10th of May 2006 05:19:51 AM
Old 05-10-2006
If I were you then I'd have gone with your approach only

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Problems with Alias, /bin/sh and sudo

'exec /bin/sh' breaks alias -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- I have an application that requires su to root in order to run some commands. Unfortunately, my corporate policy only allows sudo so I created an alias in .profile as "alias su="su... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: stulincoln
0 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Unable to use the Sudo command. "0509-130 Symbol resolution failed for sudo because:"

Hi! I'm very new to unix, so please keep that in mind with the level of language used if you choose to help :D Thanks! When attempting to use sudo on and AIX machine with oslevel 5.1.0.0, I get the following error: exec(): 0509-036 Cannot load program sudo because of the following errors:... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Chloe123
1 Replies

3. Cybersecurity

sudo /bin/sh or sudo su -

we are looking at changing the way we get root on our network. in our current system if an admin needs root access he just gets the root password and uses an su. some of our staff have decided that a sudo to "/bin/sh" will be easer. some of our staff think a sudo to "su -" will be better. I... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: robsonde
0 Replies

4. AIX

sudo log and sudo auditing

Sudo In AIX, how to find out what commands have been run after a user sudo to another user? for example, user sam run 'sudo -u robert ksh' then run some commands, how can I (as root) find what commands have been run? sudo.log only contains sudo event, no activity logging. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: jalite19
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting