Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting replacing one filed at run time in UNix Post 302072947 by vino on Tuesday 9th of May 2006 05:32:18 AM
Old 05-09-2006
Code:
sed -e "s/^[^,]*\(,.*\)/new \1/g" input.txt > output.txt

[^,]* means a character-set containing all those characters which are not , (comma)
\(,.*\) is capture a string which matches the pattern , (comma) followed by anything.

Then replace the character-set with *new* followed by the pattern.

Write everything into output.txt

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help needed - Replacing all date & time occurrences in a file with a string using Sed

Hi, I am new to using Sed. I have a file containg lines like the following: INFORM----Test.pc:168:10/11/05 12:34:26 > some text goes here.. TRACE-----Test.pc:197:10/11/05 12:34:26 > some text goes here.. My requirement is to replace 10/11/05 12:34:26 with a string <RUNDATE> (including <... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Hema_M
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

How To Provide Time Sync Using Nts-150 Time Server On Unix Network?

can anybody tel lme,how to instal NTS -150 on a unix network,it needs some patch to fetch time frm serve,,?? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: pesty
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to get time duration between two human readable time stamp in Unix?

Here is two time I have: Jul 12 16:02:01 Jul 13 01:02:01 and how can I do a simple match to get difference between two time which is 09:00:00 Thanks in advance. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ford99
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Converting string date time to unix time in AWK