Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Simple Command (head) Question Post 302071691 by zazzybob on Sunday 23rd of April 2006 08:51:12 PM
Old 04-23-2006
Look at the -exec part of the man page....

Cheers
ZB

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

SImple command question

Does anyone know the command to get the date CREATED for a file? This is driving me berserk. Windows has it. But I cannnnnnot remeber what it is in UNIX! Thanks! (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Diabeticus
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

simple 'head' question

I'm sorry, but the example in the man pages was no help. I know head -5 fileName will give you the first 5 lines of the file but how do you get like the 6th-13th lines only or one line before the end of the file? Sorry I just started learning the basics..... =( (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: terms5
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

head command

Hi All, How can the head command be used to extract only a particular line. By default head -n filename displays the first n lines. I want only the nth line. I couldn't get it from forum search. Thanks, Sumesh (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: sumesh.abraham
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

The cut command. Really simple question!

hi, sorry for asking what I am sure is a really easy question, I am wanting to cut the users real name from the output of 'finger'. $ cut -f2-3 filename is in my script but it only seems to cut the first line. I need to cut the 2nd and 3rd word from each line and store them in variables... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rorey_breaker
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Simple question abt Copy command.