Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting KSH split string into variables Post 302071673 by drd_2b on Sunday 23rd of April 2006 03:27:58 PM
Old 04-23-2006
KSH split string into variables

Hello,
I am an intermediate scripter. I can usually find and adapt what I need by searching through previous postings, but I'm stumped.

I have a string with the format "{Name1 Release1 Type1 Parent1} {Name2 Release2 Type2 Parent2}". It is being passed as an argument into a ksh script. I need to split this string into variables such as:
Pkg1Name="Name1"
Pkg1Release="Release1"
Pkg1Type="Type1"
Pkg1Parent="Parent1"
Pkg2Name="Name2"
Pkg2Release="Release2"
Pkg2Type="Type2"
Pkg2Parent="Parent2"

Does anyone have any ideas how this may be accomplished, please?
Thanks!
D

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

variables in ksh

I'm new to unix scripting. How would I go about pulling the first 3 characters from a variable in ksh and storing in another variable? Thanks. (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: steve6368
9 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

[KSH] Split string into array

Hi, Is there any way to convert a string into an array in KSH? In other words I want to split the string like this: STRING="one two three four" into an array of 4 values splitting on white space. The array should be similar to the one that would be created with the following command: ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: piooooter
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Bash:How to split one string variable in two variables?

Hello, I have a paramter $param consisting just of two literals and want to split it into two parameters, so I can combine it to a new parameter <char1><string><char2>, but the following code didn't work: tmp_PARAM_1=cut -c1 $PARAM tmp_PARAM_2=cut -c2 $PARAM... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ABE2202
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Split lines in a file and store them in variables