Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users Need help with Couldn't canonicalise: Permission denied error Post 302070760 by blowtorch on Friday 7th of April 2006 07:41:47 AM
Old 04-07-2006
The 'couldn't cannonicalize' type of errors come up when the sftp server is unable to access the file/directory mentioned in the command. The 'permission denied' is an indication that one of the directories in the path being accessed does not have read/execute permission for the user trying to access it.

Check the permissions on the directory that the user is trying to accessis giving the error and check the permissions on directories that are not. Then change the permissions to fix the problem.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

rm Permission Denied error

I am very new to Unix. We have a script that will remove files from a directory. The account removing the files has the same permissions as the directory the files are located. We have logged in as the account and deleted the files from that directory but when we run the script with the account... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: Cech2002
7 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

getcwd: permission denied error

When I do a 'cd /appl' and issue 'ls -al' command, I get the following error for .. directory. ./..: Permission denied But still I get a listing of other directories under /appl. Also, if I give 'man' for any command under this /appl folder, I get the following error: ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Deepa
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

xterm gives me permission denied error

When I try to run xterm at a command prompt in solaris 2.5.1, i'm getting a permission denied error. But the directory and user permissions look ok, they are part of a users group and then also root,sys,adm so what gives? Any ideas? Thanks! (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: kymberm
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting