Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Permission 711---RWX---X---X
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Permission 711---RWX---X---X Post 302069730 by bobo on Tuesday 28th of March 2006 08:07:16 PM
Old 03-28-2006
Data

I have a file with permisson 711; but when an other user run the program, it can't open. This is the message:

/sbin/sh: ./myprogram: cannot open

Can any1 tell me why please?

Thanks!

#2 1 Day Ago
Perderabo
Unix Daemon Join Date: Aug 2001

That "myprogram" file must be a shell script. Shells need to read a file to execute it.

Question:

Is this mean in the beginning of the program I have to have:

/sbin/sh

codes
codes
codes

Thanks!

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

permission help

Ok heres the situation I've been studying Solaris 8 for about 6 months now and some things click in my head but others don't. One of the things that don't click are file permissions. For example I login at work and I use the ls -l command to get a long listing of the files w/ the permissions.... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: eloquent99
2 Replies

2. SCO

sftp on unixware 711 doesnt have -b option

I installed openssh on 711 to gain ssh and sftp. When i type sftp (installed in /usr/local/bin) i get the following available options usage: sftp host which isnt what i expect. I expect the full implementation : sftp host sftp host]] sftp host]]... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: townsenn
0 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

how to set the default file persmission of file to "rwx"

hi. I want to set the default permission for ever new created file to rwxrwxrwx .. I try umask 000 but it does't not give the execute persmission , is there any way to set the default permission for every new created file to rwxrwxrwx .. thankx (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: tahir23
9 Replies

4. Solaris

consequence of chmod o-rwx ....