Sponsored Content
Operating Systems AIX Changing user profile - Newbie question Post 302069365 by panchopp on Friday 24th of March 2006 03:54:18 PM
Old 03-24-2006
Ok, I went through the "Files Reference" & "System User's Guide". And I believe it would work if I could create my home directory and the .profile file inside of it, correct? but I do not have authority to do so. Is this sth I should ask the system administrator?
Thanks again,
Panchopp.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

User profile

Sorry to I am not familiar with script writing , attach is the /etc/profile in my system , we have limit each user can only have one login in the system . When the user login , if the system found the user have a dead process in the system , the system will confirm the user to kill the previous... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ust
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

User Profile

Hi Guys, Im really new with this stuff...could anybody help to guide me ...how do i change/edit user profiile ? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: gagasan_makmur
2 Replies

3. Solaris

[NewBie] Create User Profile

Hi i am a newbie on Sun Solaris system. for the above topic, creating a user profile for telnet, ftp through command line, may i know what the command is? and the way of creating the user profile.? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: yewping
2 Replies

4. AIX

rerun .profile after changing variable

I changed a $variable in my .profile (AIX unix). I know I could exit out and logon onto unix again, but how do I rerun the .profile at the command line? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: sboxtops
2 Replies

5. AIX

Which file has the user profile?

It's been a long time since I've done this and I can't remember which file is needed to edit. I would like to change the prompt for a user on my AIX 5.3 box, but I don't see a .profile file or a rc.ksh file to edit. Which file do I need to edit to get this? (1 Reply)