Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users insert pipe in file to separate values Post 302068685 by DebianJ on Monday 20th of March 2006 10:06:52 AM
Old 03-20-2006
is there a way using ksh?

is there a way using ksh to doing this?
because i don't know how to use perl... Smilie

thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

insert pipe in the finish of the line

hi, i have a flat file, with lines (records), and fields, and each field is separated by pipe ( | ) : 1|078|012006|3,9 2|078|012006|8692275|4|2|GON3507090 2|078|012006|7655734|9|0|GON3507090 2|078|012006|7572405|5|4|GCR5N07090 what i need is to insert a pipe in the end of the line:... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: DebianJ
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

hw to insert array values sequentially in a file

Hi All :), I am very new to unix. I am requiring ur help in developing shell script for below problem. I have to replace the second field of file with values of array sequentially where first field is ValidateKeepVar <File> UT-ExtractField 1 | &LogEntry &Keep(DatatoValidate)... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: rohiiit.sharma
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Korn shell program to parse CSV text file and insert values into Oracle database

Enclosed is comma separated text file. I need to write a korn shell program that will parse the text file and insert the values into Oracle database. I need to write the korn shell program on Red Hat Enterprise Linux server. Oracle database is 10g. (15 Replies)
Discussion started by: shellguy
15 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to insert a sequence number column inside a pipe delimited csv file using shell scripting?